Library Update: ACSC Essential Eight 2021

The Alyne Library has recently been updated with a Control Set covering the July 2021 version of the Essential Eight Maturity Model issued by the Australian Cyber Security Centre (ACSC). The standard allows self-assessments based on the highest maturity level provided within the Essential Eight Maturity Models.

ACSC Essential Eight 2021 Update

The ACSC Essential Eight represent the most effective strategies necessary to help organisations protect Microsoft Windows-based internet-connected networks and mitigate cyber security incidents respectively. To assist organisations with their implementation of the Essential Eight, four maturity levels have been defined: Maturity Level Zero through to Maturity Level Three. The baseline sets strategies that are most effective in making it harder for cyber adversaries to compromise an organisation’s systems.

A risk-based approach helps organisations identify compensating controls, implement proper documentation and approval requirements as well as monitor and review their effectiveness on a regular basis.

Changes between Essential Eight 2019 and Essential Eight 2021

In its latest version, the Essential Eight update now reflects a more integrated risk-based approach to address various cyber threats in a complementary manner. This new approach fosters the achievement of solid maturity levels across all eight areas before advancing to a higher maturity tier. Furthermore, the Essential Eight emphasizes Risk Management in order to enable organisations to properly manage risks associated with legacy systems. The new Essential Eight 2021 update came to effect on July 12st, 2021 and compared to its previous version, Essential Eight 2019, the new Alyne Control Set adds over 65 Controls to cover the latest version.

In addition to the existing 1500+ Controls available in the platform, the Alyne Library experts have interpreted and mapped Essential Eight 2021 requirements into a Control Set containing 65 Controls that are easily actionable, specific and measurable. The new Control Set is a perfect starting point for customers to create their own customised Essential Eight related Control Frameworks and Assessments.

Contact our sales team at to learn how Alyne can help your organisation, or schedule a meeting with an expert to experience Alyne's full capabilities.

Moiz Ahamed

Related Posts

Library Update: TISAX VDA ISA Version 5.0.4

The Alyne Library has recently been updated with a Control Set covering version 5.0.4 of the Information Security Assessment (ISA) issued by the Verband der Automobilindustrie (VDA). The ISA allows for self-assessments, audits and health checks in accordance with the Trusted Information Security Assessment Exchange (TISAX).
Read more

Library Update: UK GDPR

The Alyne Library has recently been updated with a Control Set covering the United Kingdom General Data Protection Regulation (UK GDPR). It explains the general data protection regime that applies to most UK businesses and organisations, and covers the UK GDPR, tailored by the Data Protection Act 2018.
Read more

Library Update: KAIT

The Alyne Content Library has recently been updated with a Control Set covering KAIT (Kapitalverwaltungsaufsichtliche Anforderungen an die IT) – the German BaFin's supervisory requirements for IT in Fund and Asset Management, defined in the 11/2019 (WA) circular in the version as of October 1, 2019.
Read more